Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

15 NOV 2018

Civic pride and community spirit drive Award Winners

Since 1981, Keep Australia Beautiful NSW Tidy Towns Awards have been celebrating the achievements of many upstanding regional communities across NSW.

These communities have developed innovative and resourceful projects to improve their town’s environment and demonstrated their commitment through civic pride and community spirit.

The 2018 Keep Australia Beautiful NSW Tidy Towns Award Winners were announced on Saturday, 10 November 2018 during a gala dinner in Orange, NSW. These follow the Keep Australia Beautiful Sustainable Cities Awards held in October.

Four groups took out the inaugural Return and Earn litter prevention award category for their inspiring efforts to combat litter. These include the 1st Cobargo Scouts group, Bathurst Community Op Shop, Milton Ulladulla Ex Services Club and Resource Recovery Australia in Tuncurry.

The Return and Earn litter prevention school category award went to Oakdale Public School and Peel High School, and a further two highly commended awards went to Mullum Cares Incorporated in Mullumbimby and D&M Scrap Metal in Corowa.

Congratulations to all the 2018 Winners and Highly Commended recipients who entered this year’s Tidy Towns Return and Earn Litter Prevention Awards.

Peter Bruce (CEO Exchange for Change) with Tom Gasson, the Head Teacher of the Special Needs Unit at Peel High

To nominate deserving community members or groups for the 2019 Return and Earn Litter Prevention Award, visit the Keep Australia Beautiful NSW website.